top of page

Kindle Tips: Transfer books using Calibre

I just finished the first book I read thru Kindle - The Housemaid. I started reading it last Sunday ( June 25 ) and finished it today! A page turner actually. I like the genre of the book so I might be checking out the sequel next!

By the way, do you recall my blog post about transferring eBooks via Kindle email? On that tutorial, I shared that the file type of the ebooks you sent will appear as Documents.

File Type of all my books are showing DOCUMENTS

I found out that you can add eBooks and file type that will appear is - Books! ( ✧Д✧) You can do this by using a computer software called Calibre.


To get everything done, you need to download and set up your Calibre first. Download it here. I won't go over the whole installation process but once you downloaded and install it, you will reach this set up. Make sure to select the correct device you have. For my set up, I selected Amazon > Kindle Paperwhite.


Once finished with installation, you can now start transferring eBooks via Calibre.


Making file type "BOOK"

1. Drag your eBook to Calibre's library. The format I used here is MOBI. Note that some of my books are in ePub format. It's both working on my ereader.


2. Highlight / select the eBook and then click Convert Books at the top menu



3. Click Mobi Output and then delete [PDOC] on the Personal Doc Tag. Output is Mobi. Click Ok



The above trick is the key to make the file type BOOK instead of Documents. Jobs will appear at the bottom right. Once it becomes 0, it means it has finished converting / removing the tag.




Transferring eBooks to Kindle

1. Connect your Kindle to your PC using the USB Cable. On your Calibre, it will show as a tablet icon labeled as Device once connected.

2. Select the book you just removed the [PDOC] Personal Doc Tag > right click > send to device > send to main memory

3. This may take a while so you can click Jobs at the bottom right. Once you see Send metadata to device's status is Finished, it means the ebook has been transferred. Do the steps for all the eBooks you wish to transfer.


4. Eject your Kindle from Calibre.


Now check your Kindle. The eBooks your transferred and Personal Doc Tag removed should now be there. View filters and the eBooks type should now be Books. 人´∀`)


Cons: You will not be able to sync your progress between devices.




To be honest I still prefer the Send to Kindle email but Calibre is very helpful and has other functionality. I'll discuss those soon. ୧⍢⃝୨



My Device:


Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 7th Generation


Ebooks Format: EPub and Mobi

Comments


Comments

Podělte se o vaše myšlenkyBuďte první, kdo napíše komentář.
bottom of page