top of page

Train of Thoughts: New Year in the Hospital

I am an asthmatic person ever since I can recall. Not kidding, I have this since I was a kid. Maybe this condition is hereditary because my uncles and auntie on my father's side have this too.


Being an asthmatic, I am used to having attacks around the "ber" months. Last 2022, my doctor already prescribed me a rapihaler for my maintenance.


But last December 2023, I really felt there was something different. So, around the second week, I went to St. Luke's and had a consultation with a pulmonologist. The doctor gave me a new prescription which I had to take for 2 weeks. He said if my condition doesn't improve, I have to get a Chest X-ray and come back for a follow-up check-up on January 5.


I was still able to celebrate Christmas with my family, but 3 days later, my condition got worse. I told my partner I'll just wait for January 5 but on the night of December 28, I am unable to sleep. I am in a sitting position trying to get some rest. My partner told me my breathing was different. I must mention as well that I am also experiencing stomach and gastric pain due to my Gastroesophageal reflux disease. So, the next day, we went to the nearest hospital - VRP Medical Center.


I am still against the idea of going to the hospital because I don't want my partner to be absent from his work. His bosses are not approving his emergency leave requests because they told him we are not yet married. (っ- ‸ - ς) Anyway, he has convinced me and when I got into the emergency room, the nurses and doctor told me my oxygen level is at critical level.


Mine was 90% and my heart rate was so fast at that time. I think there were about 5 doctors who went in and out of my room to check on me. They did X-ray, did 2 blood extractions for CBC, obtained sputum for sputum test and urine for urinalysis and also COVID test. They also did a Whole Abdominal Ultrasound and ECG test. After these, one of the nurses already facilitated the oxygen therapy.



We were in the emergency room around 9 am. Around 11 am, the doctor instructed that I needed to be admitted. My partner arranged this immediately, but I was only given a room around 9 or 10 pm I think. They told us because they had to wait for my COVID test results as there are designated floors for COVID positive patients. Turned out I was not.


On my first day, I was told by one of my doctors, Dra. Arandia that there's fluid on my right lung causing the difficulty in breathing. There's also infection. I was told I have Community Acquired Pneumonia - Moderate Risk. She told me patients with CAP Moderate Risk need to be treated in the hospital. Concerning my stomach pain, I have cholecystolithiasis and was referred to a surgeon. It needs to be removed but my pulmonologist, Dra. Adriana needs to give clearance first.


After 5 days of antibiotic treatment, the fluid increased ( they were expecting it would be lessened but surprise surprise! It didn't. ) At this time, I am already experiencing extreme pain on my upper right abdomen, and it was actually because of the fluid. So, I was instructed to undergo Thoracentesis. It is a procedure to remove the fluid around the lungs using a needle and the fluid passes by through a catheter. It's not painful actually. I felt relief after the procedure. The doctor sent the sample fluids to the lab so they could identify why I had fluids in my lungs. Fast forward, I got the results. It's from an infection and it is not because of Big C. (੭˃ᴗ˂)੭




I spent 8 horrifying days in the hospital. Well, that's an exaggeration. Horrifying because I do not like the vibes and the feeling of being sick and helpless. 。°(°.◜ᯅ◝°)°。 I celebrated New Year and me and my partner's 20th monthsary in the hospital.


Our New Year's Eve Photo

It was my first time to be admitted in a hospital and I didn't expect I would spend 8 days in there. I actually signed a Home Against Medical Advice document after my thoracentesis because I told my doctors that I was already so anxious because of the bills. Oh my goodness, the bills! My bill went up to around 250,000.00. Glad I have Medical Insurance and that Philhealth helped a little.


Note: Philhealth coverage for CAP Moderate Risk is 15,000 only




I am more than thankful to my partner who was there with me in the hospital every day and who willingly said yes when I asked if I could stay at my parents' house while I recover. I love you with all my heart. ♡ ̆̈


I am so thankful as well to my parents who visited me, my partner's mom, to my siblings and all those who wished me speedy recovery.


To date, me and my partner are staying here at my parents' house while I recuperate. I already had a follow up checkup, and the doctor gave new prescriptions. Another Chest X-ray is ordered, and another follow up by next week. I am positive I am feeling better than before, but it would be my doctor who'll decide. As of now, there's still little fluids around my lungs that we hope the medicine can address.


After my treatment, I can then go ahead with another procedure - laparoscopy. This is to address my cholecystolithiasis.


I claim recovery this 2024. Wish me well! ♡(੭´͈ ᐜ `͈)੭


⋆。゚☁︎。⋆。 ゚☾ ゚。⋆

Check out my anime toys, gadgets and rj collection on my Instagram: Kawaiimemos 

I play cozy games and stream it on Facebook, check out: Kawaiimemos 

For collaborations, contact me at kawaiimemos@zohomail.com

⋆。゚☁︎。⋆。 ゚☾ ゚。⋆



Comments


Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.
bottom of page